Mythean Arcana: Paranormal Romance Box Set

Mythean Arcana: Paranormal Romance Box Set - Linsey Hall If you love Mythology this is the set for you.

1. Braving Fate - 4 stars

The great thing about this book is that there is a whole new range of supernaturals, something beyond your regular werewolves & vampires. Covering a variety of mythological characters we have the greek underworld, harpies, celtic goddesses, soulceresses who gain their power from the souls of beings and walk the aether between dimensions, Jinns, millennia old immortal guardians and reincarnated souls to name a few. A new series to whet the appetites of all supernatural junkies.

2. Soulceress - 4 stars

Yes! Warren has finally given in to Esha. Why the heck did he take so long. Didn't he realize he's way better off with her in his life. Both characters are mistrustful and stubborn as mules, so alike and yet so different. They are loggerheads with each other until they realize that they were meant to be together. Though there are references to characters in the first book, they are merely supportive in nature. Esha and Warren have this book all to themselves so the story is independent of the first book and can be read as a standalone.

3. Rogue Soul - 4 stars

Andrasta, Celtic goddess of victory and Camulos, Celtic god of war. Finally we see what all the fuss is about, since this conflict has been referred to from the first book. Turns out there was never any conflict between them. They were both victims of circumstance, their fates in the hands of every puppeteer but themselves. The reincarnation theme is once again in play but the plot is very different from book 1 where the female lead was also reincarnated to fulfill her fate.

Mythology has always been of interest to me but this series is my first insight into Celtic mythology. I especially enjoyed reading the afterword, which was quite informative on the subject.

4. Stolen Fate - 4 stars

Of the 4 books in this series, I think this one is my favorite. Fiona and Ian's attraction is instant, each recognizing kinship in the other, whereas the leads in the other 3 books all had history together. Even though they are the same species, their backgrounds and upbringing are poles apart and they come together for their own singular purposes, eventually their focus becomes of one mind, each willing to sacrifice themselves for the other. Linsey Hall's writing too has progressed and matured with each release, this being her debut series.

5. Fate Undone - 4 stars

As all you Thor addicts know, Loki is Thor's nemesis, evil, conniving, manipulative and vengeful. But Linsey Hall's Loki is the complete opposite, Sure he's a bit self absorbed, even a little self righteous, but his heart is in the right place. He is the god who must restore balance to the havoc caused by the arrogance of the other gods, He is the god who must teach the others a lesson in humility. So when one of his "lessons" goes awry and he is sentenced to be punished for eternity, he finds himself being whisked away to safety by Sigyn, the woman he loves, the woman who has now brought the wrath of the gods, including her own mother's, upon her head. Now they have been banished from Asgard and must face an eternity on Midgard, away from each other because Loki has turned Sigyn away, admonishing her for her foolishness.

Centuries later, in spite of new names and new identities, their paths cross once again and feelings once denied rise to the surface. This time he is not letting her go but first he must fulfill his quest otherwise all the gods including Sigyn who is a demigod, will be lost forever.

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.